Deuxième semaine à Sushi Shop

Monday was delivery day, like last Monday. I’d forgotten until the man came in with the stack of boxes. And then he kept coming, with almost the whole kitchen taken up by boxes of stuff! We had to first check that everything in the order came, then moved the frozen foods into the freezers. The other boxes, filled with paper towels, soy sauce, etc. were left later, since they weren’t in any danger of thawing out. The rest of the day went by rather normally; I started to get into a pattern of bringing out the patio chairs and tables, washing the large cutting boards for sushi, and mixing the rice with the vinegar. There was also prep work, like placing certain foods into containers that fit in the sushi-making area, cutting up veggies and meats (more veggies, in my case, and unwrapping the crab sticks). Rolling sushi were the highlights of my days, as they were the least boring and least tedious. However, I washed dishes three times a day, once in the morning, once around midday, and once at the end of my shift.

SAM_8462SAM_8463SAM_8461

One good thing about working the day shift is getting to make the sushi. A positive about that is that I get to keep the ends of the rolls (that are cut off to make the rolls look nice) and use them to make my own sushi lunch. I don’t have to pay for food nor bring food (other than snacks). Usually those who work the closing shifts get the free sushi that wasn’t bought from the day, but that’s at around 9 or 10pm, which is pretty late for dinner.SAM_8460

However, the rest of the job got boring rather quickly. It was a great position, but the constant washing of dishes wasn’t so great.

Lisa and I met up for a movie, Jurassic World (in French), on Tuesday with two others, at the movie theatre for half off days. As the movie was in 3D, we had to pay $9, but the normal films were just $5! I wanted to go see those. We made banana bread cupcakes the next day, which turned out amazingly yummy! We watched Divergent in French while we waited for them to finish (only half an hour), then munched on 3 each once they came out of the oven.      SAM_8469

Leave a comment