Le 5e semaine: au revoir!

On Monday we took up all of the worksheets we were assigned the previous week so that we would be ready for the NEXT DAY’S TEST. Yes, the test was Tuesday and we only knew the correct answers on Monday.  That night everyone studied, as it was the only chance we had. On the test were all the given sheets, the prepositions from the first semester, and new verb endings. To write out notes, it took 9 pages, unlike the first semester’s 4, and less time to study. Monday was also the last Conversation atelier, where we did activities on Quebecois lore (which was actually quite interesting). I received my acceptance into Langues et travail and I was shouting and jumping up and down (Megan and Jamie can attest to this).

Tuesday was the test. People were rather nervous or laissez-faire about it – I was one of the latter (I just wanted it over with!!) I did relatively well, since he was marking harshly, with an 89%. Lunch with the animatrices was nice, as they properly knew who I was (somehow) and we had amazing pizza that had the pepperoni underneath! It was the last Chanson atelier that day as well, where we didn’t do much but listen to each person’s favourite French song in class and filled out surveys of the atelier. The “info weekend”/info session was on Tuesday this week to tell us about what to expect in the last few days. The evening was karaoke, but I decided not to go since it was raining and I really couldn’t be bothered.

SAM_8426

Wednesday was rather relaxing, as we didn’t really do anything in class and there was no atelier. I cleaned as much as possible, since I learned that my inspection was moved up a day -to Thursday, instead of Friday. I also had a meeting with Penelope and the other students who were accepted into the Langues et travail program to know more details and find out (finally!) which post I got. I GOT SUSHI SHOP YESSSSS!! I was excited about my post and surprised at my luck at being able to walk to work, rather than bike or bus. In the evening was the Spectacle, which actually surprised me at how talented some people were. One girl, Alyssa, in my chanson atelier did an amazing rendition of Edith Piaf’s La vie en rose (her voice was MINDBLOWING). Another friend, Kyle, did 2 acting parts, a rubic’s cube show, and played the drums (SO WELL OMG). That night was the night to go out to Chase Galerie, where I actually met new people like Sam and danced for a while. It was a good final night, so I’m happy about that.

Thursday was our final class. I was late by about 20 minutes since I was drunk the previous night, but I didn’t really care haha. We watched all the films from the first week and the films we made the previous week. Keya was ridiculously funny and ours was pretty good too. The other two weren’t really good, but it didn’t really matter. In the early afternoon we had the post-test (which I finished as quickly as possible because I was just so done). It was then time to move. I decided it’d just be easier to move today rather than Friday, since there’d be less people in the other residence moving in and less people moving out in general. I thought I could maybe get help from people, but everyone was cleaning, so I just made a gazillion back and forth trips myself. It took me about 2 hours, since I was doing things in pieces, and I got Jamie to help me with the big luggage, as my arms were exhausted. Many people were also giving me food, so that really added to my back and forth movement (though definitely appreciated, as I wouldn’t have to do as much grocery shopping). I only had an hour to get ready for the final ceremony, so I showered quickly, put on a dress and a bit of makeup, and off I went. This time I remembered to bring a fan in order to keep cool and not sweat off my makeup. We sat by class and went up alphabetically to get our certificates and then took a final class picture. It was all very cute, but I had no tears to cry. Our group went back to our residence, where we said goodbyes without tears.

Friday people left. It was all over so quickly. I took stuff that people left behind, since there was a lot left behind, and lots was useful to me (such as tissues, food, etc.) I remembered in time to change my train ticket (and good thing I waited, since I only got an email on Thursday about how I could leave on the 4th of July, since I was to work on the 3rd). I went to 1088R to see if I could get more kitchen supplies, since people were bringing back theirs, and I was able to take a lot! I got a dishrack, toaster, pot, strainer, etc. On my way, I saw a friend who was waiting to be picked up (lucky him!) and we chatted for a bit before his mom came. It was quite adorable, but sad for me since I wouldn’t see my family for another 3 weeks. I organized my room that day and didn’t really know what else to do, as there was nothing TO do.

And so the weekend came, where I also didn’t have anything specific to do. Now starts my time with Langues et travail…

Leave a comment